Category........
AINP
Visa Office......
Calgary
NOC Code......
App. Filed.......
23-11-2018
Hi everyone,

I know this question has been asked several times, however, changes in immigration laws/rules have been made recently so I want to know my chances.

I'm currently working in the area I studied (OOSD Object-Oriented Software developer certificate at SAIT) since January 2018. I was hired after my practicum.

So, I applied for the AINP on Nov 23th and my PGWP will expire on Feb 19th. The AINP processing inventory updated on Jan 2, 2019, sais they are assessing applications received before September 28, 2018. It seems there is not enough time to assess my application before my PGWP expired. Do I have any chance to be assessed after my work permit expire? Do I have to leave Canada on the date that my PGWP expire?

I'll appreciate any orientation or advice because I'm very worried about it

Thank!

ContactFront

Champion Member
Feb 22, 2017
You can change your status to visitor and stay in Canada after your PGWP expires but you wouldn't be able to work, otherwise you'll have to leave.

On a side note, are you not qualified for Express Entry?

Reactions: jjtomassi

jjtomassi

Jan 15, 2019
Alberta
Category........
AINP
Visa Office......
Calgary
NOC Code......
App. Filed.......
23-11-2018
You can change your status to visitor and stay in Canada after your PGWP expires but you wouldn't be able to work, otherwise you'll have to leave.

On a side note, are you not qualified for Express Entry?
Thank you for answering so soon,

I already have a visitor visa ( I had it before to come to Canada because I came as a tourist, then I switched to international student). So, they will assess my applications having a valid visitor visa? I did not apply for Express Entry because I don't have enough points.

Thank you so much for your help

Wonderland_1010

Champion Member
Aug 24, 2015
Regina, SK
Category........
PNP