+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PGWP Refused because I wasn't a full time student but I was?

tessadfr

May 14, 2020
Hello everyone,

I applied for a post graduation work permit back in November. For a little background, I came to Montreal for my license and then extended my study permit for two more years after being accepted into a graduate school. I was a full time student as my study permit was only for full time students and finished my courses in April 2019 before handing in my masters research paper in August 2019. I had to wait until September to get my research paper (which counted for a vast majority of the credits) approved and put in my transcript. I ordered an official transcript as soon as it was and when I received it, I sent it by mail along with the other documents for my application.

I wasn't allowed to open it to verify the information because it would have made it null but I've asked my department beforehand and they told me that on their end the research paper was indeed validated and on their transcript.

Because I sent it by the mail (I didn't know how to send them a sealed transcript with a digital application), I didn't receive any reference number to follow my case which made it hard to know where they were at and I couldn't submit the questionnaire form because I didn't have said reference number. (I only realized later I could have used my IUC client number)