+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

[PGWP] part-time student for a year and half because of personal reasons and a surgery

dkdlkang33

Oct 14, 2017
I am an international student in Quebec. I am going to finish my undergraduate degree this December 2017. I was going to apply PGWP but today I learned that one of the requirements is to have been a full-time student except the last academic session. I had personal issues going on for the past two years and I failed some courses and had a surgery because of chronic sinus infection. I've been still full-time although there were other issues happening but I became a part-time in 2016 fall semester (from September 2016) and have been part-time so far. Can I apply for PGWP if I explain valid reasons to why I studied part-time for the last three semesters before graduation? For CAQ which requires me to be a full-time student as well, I showed proof and was able to obtain them twice without a problem. Does the government accept valid excuses for PGWP as well?

1. Can I apply for PGWP in my case? Do they have exemptions for their full-time requirement or is it absolutely required?
2. If I apply at the border rather than online and bring all the documents to prove that there was a valid reason, would this be a better option as I will be able to explain face to face?
3. If I am not eligible to apply, what's next? What am I supposed to apply for?

Thank you in advance. Please help.

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010