+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PGWP expired prematurely because of passport expiry

SS_1234

Aug 11, 2019
Hellow Experts,

I graduated in August 2018 and was supposed to get a 3-year PGWP after 2 years of study but PGWP was issued for only one and half years because my old passport expiry in February 2020. Now I have renewed my old passport and have to apply for the PGWP for the remaining time duration of 1.5 years.

I had 2 specific questions -
1) Can I apply online for this.
2) Can anyone share the explanation letter template to be used in this situation and what all information we need to mention in the letter.

Regards,
Shikha S.

Navpreet0817

May 29, 2019
Hellow Experts,

I graduated in August 2018 and was supposed to get a 3-year PGWP after 2 years of study but PGWP was issued for only one and half years because my old passport expiry in February 2020. Now I have renewed my old passport and have to apply for the PGWP for the remaining time duration of 1.5 years.

I had 2 specific questions -
1) Can I apply online for this.
2) Can anyone share the explanation letter template to be used in this situation and what all information we need to mention in the letter.

Regards,
Shikha S.
1. I called CIC and I was told to strictly apply through mail.

Navpreet0817

May 29, 2019
Hi

-----------------------------------------------------
To : Immigration Refugees and Citizenship Canada July 01, 2019
RE: Application for Post Graduation Work Permit Extension.

Subject : Regarding extension of Post Graduate Student Work Permit

Dear Officer ,

My name is “Your Full Name” and I am currently on Post Graduate Work Permit (PGWP) “UXXXXXXXXX”, which expires on January 01 2015. I am an Indian national and my passport id is XXXXXXXX.