+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Partner Immigration/Living Questions

AliTheTime

Aug 17, 2018
So, I’m in a bit of a state of confusion and not really sure how to proceed or even what to proceed with. I want to live with my girlfriend here, but I honestly have no idea how any of this works and the wording they use on official websites just flies over our heads. Any advice following this information would be greatly appreciated!

I am in a same-sex relationship with my LDR girlfriend (both 19.) We want to live together by next summer here in Ontario. She currently lives in California. We have been dating for 6 months now, but due to unforeseen problems we have not been able to physically meet, though we plan to in October.

I am a student attending university, and am financially dependent on OSAP to get by with rent and tuition (I live comfortably enough that having another be financially dependent on me is not an issue, however.) My partner has a full time minimum wage job where she lives, and does not pay rent or other bills, and is saving up money. She has not attended post-secondary education and has not learned a trade. There is currently nothing tying her down to the USA besides her job.

We believe that she would be well off living here and don’t foresee any issues with it, but we have no idea how we would get her to stay legally. We know we could get a 6 month stay from visiting, but after that we do not know what to do.