+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

OWP for Spouse - Principal on PGWP

genxmz

Mar 1, 2021
I suspect with recent Covid-19 situations a number of forum members might be in a situation similar to ours. My spouse was on OWP as I studied. She even managed to find a job within her NOC as a QA Analyst. I completed my studies in 2020 during the Covid lockdowns and graduated. I applied for my PGWP but it took quite some time for my PGWP to come out in Nov 2020. My spouse hadn't applied for OWP because her OWP still had a few months left on it (one Immigration Consultant who looked at our case said this situation was a lucky situation for us, ideally her initial OWP would be expiring together with my Study Permit in 2020).

Anyway, I finally got my PGWP and she immediately applied for OWP extension. We were hoping to cite that I had just received my PGWP and had just started looking for work and so couldn't attach the required 3 pay slips. We also thought that the fact that she was already working (even if on a 3-month contract) in a Skilled Job as Quality Analyst. This turned out to be a miscalculation as her application was denied and OWP immediately expired with the response from IRCC. She had to stop working, and now we have 90 days to restore her status.

Fortunately, I now have a job after a few months of searching. But we aren't so sure if it will be classified as "skilled". In addition, the job contract is part-time, through an employment agency and the letter I got from the agency says so. The contract is for 2 months (I know the "possibility of extension" won't matter to the Case Officer). A few questions...