+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Order of Operations at MSP/ICBC for Returning Resident

Apr 15, 2023
I was a BC resident many years ago and had a CareCard and BC driver licence before moving to the USA. I am planning to return to BC and reestablish health insurance and driver licence.

MSP imposes a 3-month wait period for coverage. Would I need to wait until the wait period is over before applying for a BC Services Card? If I choose to have separate cards, I assume I can apply for the driver licence first and then the BC Services Card when eligible?

If I procrastinate and apply for MSP more than 3 months after arriving in BC and already completed the wait period, would the coverage begin immediately?

The name on the old CareCard is different from the name on the old driver licence. Would the BC Services Card show the name in the MSP database and the new driver licence show the name in the ICBC database?

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
Yes, so have the requisite ID for ICBC.
Yes you can receive a driver’s license when you arrive in BC. normally wait period starts from when you apply for MSP. Ar you moving back to BC permanently? You must be prepared to make your permanent home in BC and be planning on meeting certain residency requirements to qualify to apply for MSP.

Apr 15, 2023
Yes you can receive a driver’s license when you arrive in BC. normally wait period starts from when you apply for MSP. Ar you moving back to BC permanently? You must be prepared to make your permanent home in BC and be planning on meeting certain residency requirements to qualify to apply for MSP.
Yes, will be moving back to BC permanently. Would I apply for the BC driver's licence immediately and then apply for the BC Services Card after serving the wait period?

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017