+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Open work permit while awaiting for PR through EESW

RaeShumba

Star Member
Nov 5, 2019
Hi there,

I've applied for my PR through the federal skilled worker EE system and am looking to obtain an open work permit.

I don't have a job offer nor any work experience in Canada which isn't ideal but my profession is regulated and am still in the process of sorting my registration with the relevant authority. I've been advised I've little to no chance of securing a job without prior experience in Canada and being registered with the regulating authority so am in a catch-22.

Anyway, I hope to apply for a work permit whilst I wait for my PR application. I'm a British citizen in Canada on an ETA. The IRCC webpages give slightly contradictory info about open work permits, intermingled with bridging open work permits.

Am I correct in thinking I can apply for a standard Open Work Permit, from within Canada, staying on an ETA, while waiting for my PR application?

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
Hi there,

I've applied for my PR through the federal skilled worker EE system and am looking to obtain an open work permit.

I don't have a job offer nor any work experience in Canada which isn't ideal but my profession is regulated and am still in the process of sorting my registration with the relevant authority. I've been advised I've little to no chance of securing a job without prior experience in Canada and being registered with the regulating authority so am in a catch-22.