+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

online courses/Distance learning

NinaNinaNina

Jan 3, 2020
Hi
I am an international student. I am a Master's student. 6 out of 11 courses of my program were online.(I should mention that I have studied at a university not a college). Do you think I might face a problem when I want to apply for PGWP/PR or citizenship?
Has anyone had an experience regarding being asked if they have passed online courses during their programs?

It is urgent to know.

Jan 11, 2020
you are not eligible for PGWP. after February 2019, the CPC-E officer checks the transcript and university transcript URL to confirm online courses. the problem is only for PGW. Your options are LMIA or marriage with citizen/PR

NinaNinaNina

Jan 3, 2020
Thanks for your reply.
The point is that it is not mentioned if courses are online or not in the transcript.
what do u mean by transcript URL?

Jan 11, 2020
every program needs government approval. the transcript shows codes for different programs. If the officer wants, he can get all the details about the courses from the central system. It is designed to crack down fake courses. It completely depends on the officer to go into details or not. But the bottom line is as per your post, you seem not eligible for the PGWP. I read at few places, students got away with it but since February 2019, it is getting tougher and officers following complaints they received from others for online courses. IRCC taking the complaints seriously and not giving any PGWP for those who took such distance learning programs. you should check with the students who received PGWP after February 2019 for a similar program.

NinaNinaNina

Jan 3, 2020
The point is that my program is a Master’s program which is not necessarily called a distance learning!!