+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Obligation to emplyoer on gaining Express Entry

superflychris

Mar 20, 2015
Hi there,

I was just wondering, if I successfully apply for Express Entry with a Valid Job Offer - am I obligated to take up the job once I arrive in Canada or as I am now a permanent resident am I still free to choose.

Just wondering - I fully intend to take up the job!

Thanks,

Chris

hulahoop

Feb 19, 2015
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
12-01-2015
AOR Received.
13-02-2015
IELTS Request
12-06-2015
superflychris said:
Hi there,

I was just wondering, if I successfully apply for Express Entry with a Valid Job Offer - am I obligated to take up the job once I arrive in Canada or as I am now a permanent resident am I still free to choose.

Just wondering - I fully intend to take up the job!

Thanks,

Chris
I'm pretty sure that after you get your PR you're basically a free agent and allowed to choose.

Which stream did you go through, FSW?

hulahoop

Feb 19, 2015
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
12-01-2015
AOR Received.
13-02-2015
IELTS Request
12-06-2015
superflychris said:
Yes - FSW. Thanks for the information, that's what I thought too.
Yeah once you have the PR in your hands you'd have to do something pretty terrible to get it taken away again. :)

Pippin

VIP Member
Mar 22, 2010
I really feel for the employer who has gone to such lengths to support an applicant's journey to Canada if this happens. On the other hand I do know of a case where an employer charged the applicant a week's wages before providing the LMO (which had no fee in those days). The money would be returned when the employee came to work.

superflychris

Mar 20, 2015
Oh I absolutely agree with you - it was just a hypothetical. I am very much looking forward to working for my employer should the LMIA be successful. If not I will have to wait until the points go down to 414, if they ever do.

colorblind

Apr 3, 2013