+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

O Canada!

Avalanche87

Jul 13, 2007
Hello, I've come to all of you knowledgeable people with a couple of inquiries.

My boyfriend and I have been dating for four years, long distance -- he lives in Quebec, Canada, and I live in Michigan, USA. We visit eachother every month, or every other month, after the first year of being together. Either I go there, or he comes here. We have letters, emails, 'phone records, texting records, MSN message records.. pictures, ticket stubs, family member testimonies.. etc. I have no children, I've never been married, nor does/has he. He just graduated and is seeking a stable job within his desired field and will most likely have a decent job within the next couple of weeks.. we'd like to pursue a conjugal visa, with him sponsoring me, both of us living in Quebec (my major is French language and literature, so this works out rather well!).

First of all, what are the exact steps to the process? I am aware of what it entails, however, not the exact order. Would it be faster if we applied from within Canada? Or from within the United States?

Do we have to mail our "proof" with the package of forms? Do I mail my passport in, too? Or do they ask for it at a later time?

I know that Quebec (<3) has its own standards and regulations for immigration into the province, and that I must file a separate immigration form, but when do I do this? Do I file both the national forms and the provincial forms at the same time? I am aware that there are two separate fees.

Seeing as we have a very simple case, no children, no previous marriages or current marriages, no medical conditions, will obtaining a visa take 13 months as 80% of them do?

I guess this is a start.. I tried to break it up into paragraphs do you all don't fall asleep reading. :) I'm sure I'll come up with more questions.