+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

NOC 4012 Research Assistant

applefun

May 21, 2015
Hello,

If I am a PhD student as a research assistant NOC 4012, can I apply for the Federal skilled worker program using this experience? Does it count as work experience?

Anyone having this issue, could you please advice?

Thanks!

f1ahmed

Nov 26, 2014
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
CPC-Ottawa
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
13-07-2015
AOR Received.
13-07-2015
Med's Done....
28-07-2015
Passport Req..
30-12-2015
VISA ISSUED...
05-01-2016
LANDED..........
18-02-2016
applefun said:
Hello,

If I am a PhD student as a research assistant NOC 4012, can I apply for the Federal skilled worker program using this experience? Does it count as work experience?

Anyone having this issue, could you please advice?

Thanks!
You can apply in EE ONLY if you have 1 year or more foreign experience. You RA/TA is not considered as Canadian experience because you are here on Study permit, not work permit.

kateg

Aug 26, 2014
British Columbia
Category........
Visa Office......
CPC-O
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
01-05-2015
Nomination.....
N/A
AOR Received.
01-05-2015
IELTS Request
05-05-2015
File Transfer...
N/A
Med's Request
N/A
Med's Done....
16-04-2015
Interview........
N/A
VISA ISSUED...
N/A
LANDED..........
27-08-2015
Was the work experience paid?

For CEC, they exclude work as a student:

Self-employment and work experience gained while you were a full-time student (for example, on a co-op work term) does not count under this program.
For FSW, they do not:

at least one year (1,560 hours total / 30 hours per week), continuous full-time or an equal amount in part-time,
paid work (volunteer work, unpaid internships do not count),
in the same NOC skill type (0, A or B) ,
within the last 10 years, and