+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

NOC: 2274 Marine engineer officer

Singh0700

Mar 26, 2021
Hey everyone,
I had a few queries on my mind, I would like to share with y'all.
I am a marine engineer officer (class IV certificate of competency), issued by india. I have applied for a PR in jan 2020, through the FSW program, NOC code 2274. My satus is currently showing as under progress and the medicals have been cleared. I would like to know the following.
1. I have been doing some research and have come to know through the transport Canada website, that, in order to get a certified class IV license from transport Canada, one would firts need to go through a course (240 hrs class + lab) and also appear for exams, to prove his competancy level. Now my question is, does this apply to everyone? I mean I have already gone through the necessary one-year marine engineering (GME) program in India itself, before starting my career and sailing for some years now in this field. So would we be exempted from this course?
2. If anyone, with this particular job profile, who has already been through the whole ordeal of migrating and applying to Transport Canada, acquiring a job, etc. could kindly give me a littel insight on how to go about it? I would be really greatful. Are employers considering immigrants for such professions?
3. Is it difficult to acquire jobs in this field?
I am currenlty just waiting for my application to get assessed and while I am waiting I would like to collect some facts.
Would be really greatful if anyone would be kind enough to shed some light on my questions.
Thanks
Hi , u got ur visa or not? What is the status , kindly reply I also want to apply for Canada or.

Gagandiep

Jul 25, 2021
I did not go through agent actually. Applied all by myself with a little help from various groups. If you would like to be a part of any group, do share your number; I will have you added to necessary groups.
Hello... I'm an ETO.