+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

New international graduates 40000 stream

Tombell1997

Dec 4, 2020
Hello

One of the eligibility requirements to apply for the new permanent residency application for international graduates opening on the 6th of May says this "Be employed in Canada with a valid permit or authorization to work pursuant to the Act and Regulations at the time the application"

I'm a little bit confused on the "authorization to work " part, I graduated humber college with diploma in 2020 but now I go to university of Toronto as an undergraduate, I don't have pgwp but I have a study that allows me to work 20 hours a week and I have a job, does this Qualify as authorization to work?

Tombell1997

Dec 4, 2020
But my study permit gives me authorization to work for 20 hours per week during school times and full time during the holidays

captainarabiia

VIP Member
Mar 17, 2015
Winnipeg
Visa Office......
Riyadh Visa Office
App. Filed.......
22-02-2018
Passport Req..
11-03-2018
But my study permit gives me authorization to work for 20 hours per week during school times and full time during the holidays

So here's my understanding,

If you're applying under the gradate stream, you basically need authorization under implied status or PGWP. Since you need to have got your completion letter to apply, which in that case you can't continue working on SP until you apply PGWP.

If you're applying under the essential worker stream ( if you don't have your completion letter yet ) , you basically need authorization work, which students have under study permits too.

Note: IRCC hasn't mentioned of any rules or regulations specifying that students work exp or auth won't count.

Reactions: Tombell1997

mikeymyke

Apr 24, 2021