+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Need help urgently -- University recognition issue

rohit10191

Feb 7, 2016
Hi guys

My name is Rohit Singh and I am working as a software engineer in India for the past 2.5 years. I am trying to immigrate to Canada either by the FSWP or by means of getting admission in a Canadian university for my masters. However, I am faced with lots of troubles. Request your assistance with the same.

1. FSWP

- I have a full time 4 year Bachelors of Technology (B.Tech) degree in Electrical and Electronics engineering. CGPA 8.60/10. The problem - My college is affiliated to Sikkim Manipal University, which is a recognized university in India but, it's distance education wing(SMU-DE), however, is blacklisted.

- WES has refused to evaluate any transcripts from Sikkim Manipal University, irrespective of the college one has studied in. There are other agencies such as ICES, IQAS and ICAS that might evaluate my credentials, but I am not sure as of now if they will recognize my degree.

-Please suggest which agency I should approach for credential evaluation.

2. Masters

- After the express entry issue, I decided to go ahead and try to get admission in a masters program in Canada (Ontario), and then hopefully apply for PR in the CEC class under the Ontario PNP scheme.

- I approached many immigration agencies in India. One look at my GPA and they gave me high hopes for admission. I specifically told them that I had had problems with credential assessment in the past. They said that credentials wont be a problem since your GPA is good.

- Took help of a study abroad consultant. After paying her fees she gives me the names of three not so good colleges and universities. When I asked her the reason, she replied that your university's reputation is not that great in Canada. and you might have extremely limited options to apply. Pissed me off to the core.