+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

NATO SECRET LEVEL JOBS

thomas465

Dec 14, 2017
Hi,

I am a new permanent resident of Canada. I have been here for the last 2 years on a temporary work permit. I am specialized in laser physics and most of my jobs are in the defense sector. I had received interview calls from a defense company when I was a temporary resident but was not successful in securing the job I want. Most of the defense contractors like Boeing, Lockheed Martin, L3-Harris, Honeywell have offices in Canada. Do they hire PR holders? I am just wondering if I am wasting my time by attending those interviews.

Chevy23

May 1, 2014
Vancouver Island
Hi,

I am a new permanent resident of Canada. I have been here for the last 2 years on a temporary work permit. I am specialized in laser physics and most of my jobs are in the defense sector. I had received interview calls from a defense company when I was a temporary resident but was not successful in securing the job I want. Most of the defense contractors like Boeing, Lockheed Martin, L3-Harris, Honeywell have offices in Canada. Do they hire PR holders? I am just wondering if I am wasting my time by attending those interviews.
Hi there,

I am a PR of Canada, currently applying for citizenship. I used to work in defense in the UK and held secret level clearance.
These companies do hire PR holders but the problem is the security clearance. I was told by one company that I have to reside in Canada for 5 years to gain reliability clearance and 10 years for secret clearance.

However, looking online I do not see any requirement for years residing in Canada.
Perhaps read through this link and see what you make of it.

https://www.tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca/esc-src/personnel/information-eng.html#a4.1

It could be that the out-of-country verification is a lengthy process that most employers are not willing to wait for.

thomas465

Dec 14, 2017
Hi there,