Name change process before oath

wcikkk

Star Member
Nov 24, 2010
Category........
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Hello,

After long wait of 15 years, I finally got a oath invitation last night.

I have been using English name for more than 10 years, and I wonder if I can change my first name and keep current name as a middle name.

According to my research, I should file application in Service Ontario, but not sure if I have to wait until oath.

If I send application now, would I get my revised name on citizenship certificate?

Is is better to wait until I become citizen?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Reom27

Star Member
Feb 16, 2016
Montreal, QC
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
wcikkk said:
Hello,

After long wait of 15 years, I finally got a oath invitation last night.

I have been using English name for more than 10 years, and I wonder if I can change my first name and keep current name as a middle name.

According to my research, I should file application in Service Ontario, but not sure if I have to wait until oath.

If I send application now, would I get my revised name on citizenship certificate?

Is is better to wait until I become citizen?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Personally, I advice you to not go with a name change before you get your oath done and have your citizenship in hand. After that, do whatever you want to do and follow the procedure for that. I believe that anything you do now (i.e, before your oath) will affect your oath moment and who knows when you are going to have it again? You have been waiting for 15 years (as you mentioned) and you should just GO with the scheduled moment.

wcikkk

Star Member
Nov 24, 2010
Category........
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Reom27 said: