+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

McGill - Graduate Studies - Electrical and Computer Engineering Chances?

scottdickson86

Dec 4, 2013
Montreal, Quebec
Category........
Visa Office......
Manila (VFS Makati; paper)
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
07-Jul-2014
Med's Done....
06-May-2014
VISA ISSUED...
22-Jul-2014
LANDED..........
27-Aug-2014
Hi guys,

I am an international student from Southeast Asia and looking into getting my Master's degree at McGill - Electrical and Computer Engineering. I guess my main issue is that McGill's Graduate Studies Admission site does't have an "International Degree Equivalency" guide for students who graduated from my country and so I'm having trouble converting my grades to McGill/Canadian point grade average. My undergrad is a five-year degree in Electronics and Communications Engineering and our semesters are made up of 24 credit hours the minimum. Our 3-hour lab classes also only take 1 credit hour, and our thesis and co-op programs are rated Pass/Fail (not part of the final GPA). I read in McGill's ECE's courses section that 3-hour lab classes get 2 credit hours, and thesis and co-ops have an equivalent grade. When I tried converting my grades and credits, (ignoring my thesis and co-op), I end up with a 3.33/4.0 GPA. What do you think are my chances?

My official GPA based on my transcript is: 1.88
This is my university's grading system:
1.00 - 1.25 - Excellent
1.50 - 1.75 - Very Good
2.00 - 2.25 - Good
2.50 - 2.75 - Satisfactory
3.00 - Pass
5.0 - Fail