+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Maintaining PR While Living in Canada Working for US Company

jwgosz

May 17, 2019
I am a Canadian permanent resident and US citizen. PR status was granted after I had already moved back to the US. Canadian PR expires October 2022.

I have an opportunity to take an 18 month contract job which would allow me to be based anywhere (spending ~4 full and/or partial days/wk where I am based) but the role itself would involve about 50-75% travel to US locations. This role would be paid in USD, and I would receive a 1099 tax form (vs a W2).

So I believe that I can hit the 731 day requirement to renew PR status by Oct 2022. However my question is more along the lines of employment. Will the Canadian government care that I am working for a US company, being paid USD? I know my tax situation will be complicated and I will need to leverage a professional to make sure taxes on both sides of the border are properly filed, but as long as I have a physical presence in Canada for 731 days in the 5 year PR period, and taxes are properly filed, will anything else cause issues for renewing PR?

canuck_in_uk

VIP Member
May 4, 2012
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
06/12
I am a Canadian permanent resident and US citizen. PR status was granted after I had already moved back to the US. Canadian PR expires October 2022.

I have an opportunity to take an 18 month contract job which would allow me to be based anywhere (spending ~4 full and/or partial days/wk where I am based) but the role itself would involve about 50-75% travel to US locations. This role would be paid in USD, and I would receive a 1099 tax form (vs a W2).