+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Lost PR Card outside Canada; Not met residency obligation for PRTD

luluhunt

Nov 22, 2022
Hi all, i went on a trip recently and I lost my PR Card. I'm currently outside Canada and have been living away for 3 years now. I realize the next step is to apply for PRTD, but I'm afraid to apply for one as I have not met the residency obligation of 730 days / 5 years. Even if my card still expires in 2024, I still won't be able to meet the 730 days by then. I now have two courses of action:

* Apply for Canada PRTD under Humanity and Compassionate Grounds (I was still in University when I received my PR Status and once I graduated, COVID hit)
* Enter Canada through US-Canada land border as I've heard they accept CoPR there. I've heard from multiple people they've been allowed to enter, but what are the chances that my RO will be investigated in the land border?

Hope I may receive guidance on which step I should take next. I'd really like to keep my PR status as it was always in the plan to move there next year. Thank you in advance.

armoured

VIP Member
Feb 1, 2015
* Enter Canada through US-Canada land border as I've heard they accept CoPR there. I've heard from multiple people they've been allowed to enter, but what are the chances that my RO will be investigated in the land border?
There are multiple threads on this here. While you have to decide, returning through USA (if you can) is preferable - less chance of report / outright refusal/formal declaration of you being inadmissible (subject to appeal, but even appeal chances better if you are in Canada).

You will be admitted this way. Chances are better, as above - although no-one can quantify that. And you can remain/get established if you should get reported.

Dec 19, 2022