+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Kiwi moving to Canada

KiwiChick

Apr 9, 2014
Firstly, hallelujah I've found this forum. Getting a straight answer out of CIC has been nightmarish.
I am in the process of moving to Canada to live with my partner. We first met in 1989 when I was an exchange student in Ontario. We have both been married and now divorced with others. In recent years (5) we have supported one another through our divorces and have been in a long distance relationship for the last 2, visiting one another on 3 occassions in the last year.
I've recently attained full custody of my youngest (7) and my ex has agreed for me to relocate to Canada with him. Our oldest is fully independent and has no desire to move to Canada, now or in the future.
I thought, based on the CIC website, that my partner would be able to sponsor us under the conjugal status. However, it appears from a previous posting I've read that it is near on impossible to get in under a conjugal relationship as I would not have any immigration barriers as a NZ citizen.
As mentioned above, we are both divorced and have no desire to marry again. However, we do want to enter a long term relationship together.
1. It appears the only option available is for us to apply for permanent residence is under common law and we need to be in a common law relationship for more than 12 months?
2. I and my son would need to enter Canada under a visitors visa? A visitors visa is valid for 6 months only and then we need to leave the Canada to reapply or are we able to apply for an extension while we are there?
3. Would my son need to have a student visa to attend a Canadian school?
I'm in the process of selling my home and resigning from my job to be able to move to Canada...we'd need the funds from the sale of the home to contribute if I can't work immediately.
Any help/direction would be appreciated.

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo