+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

issue with obtaining a driving license

jacksparrow1

Dec 2, 2017

Hi,
So here is my case.

I am a refugee claimant, at the port of entry the immigration took all my original credentials including my driver license and provided me with a certified true copy. the officer said that it should be good and accepted wherever needed.

When I applied for the driving license at drivetest they allowed me to do the G1 but not the road test, claiming that I don't have experience. I showed them the true copy, an international driving license and official letter stating that I have more than 10 years of experience. they didn't accept any of it.

- I asked my immigration lawyer to write to the immigration board, but they did not respond.

- I went to the MP in the area, they wrote to immigration and they responded that they need a letter from ministry of transport stating that they need my original driving license.

- I went to the ministry of transport requesting the letter, they said they don't issue such letter and they don't deal with licensing at all. it is all with drivetest

- I went back to the MP, they told me they can't help me without the letter and I should try my luck with the provincial MP

- I went to the provincial MP, they said they will get back to me but they didn't. I am going to visit them on Monday to follow up. but if I had no luck what should I do?

I am trying to find a job and most of them require a driving license. I was forced to flee my country because of discrimination, yet I feel the way I am treated in this case is similar! I have respect to rules, but it is clear the trouble I am facing has no reason at all.​

Buletruck

VIP Member
May 18, 2015