+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Is self employed immigration possible for a piano teacher?

Freddie20

Aug 2, 2016
Hello,
I have a master's degree in piano pedagogy(teaching) and have been teaching full-time in the states for over 10 years. I would like to live in Toronto as I have some family there and love the city. Will they grant my application? What would be some of the reasons for denying my application?

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
You don't qualify under self employment. To qualify, you would need to be a performing concert pianists who is globally recognized. Piano teachers do not qualify. You should take a look at the Federal Skilled Worker / Express Entry program instead.

maishou

May 1, 2015
 Self-employed experience in cultural activities or athletics. This will capture those
traditionally applying in this category. For example, music teachers, painters, illustrators,
film makers, freelance journalists. Beyond that, the category is intended to capture those
people who work behind the scenes, for example, choreographers, set designers, coaches
and trainers.
OP8

sran81

Aug 16, 2016
Re: Is self employed immigration possible for a wrestling coach?

Hi,