+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Is Maternity leave considered as valid work experience ?

Sep 20, 2022
We received ITA for Canada PR. I have claimed 3 years of work experience outside Canada that is in India. Out of the 3 years, I was on Maternity leave for 12 months. I also travelled to the USA to be with my husband in that period of time. I have already obtained a valid work experience letter from my company in India for all the 3 years of service. Will my Maternity leave be considered as valid work experience for Canada PR ?

Taran D

VIP Member
Oct 1, 2020
We received ITA for Canada PR. I have claimed 3 years of work experience outside Canada that is in India. Out of the 3 years, I was on Maternity leave for 12 months. I also travelled to the USA to be with my husband in that period of time. I have already obtained a valid work experience letter from my company in India for all the 3 years of service. Will my Maternity leave be considered as valid work experience for Canada PR ?
Was it paid? Is the record there in employer's files? Did you have paperwork to support that?

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
Maternity leave is usually not considered towards work experience hours/days/years.

Reactions: Taran D

Greenlal

Jan 23, 2023
Hence if your employer gave you time off for maternity but you kept your job for you to return to, then your maternity leave counts as experience. If you quit completely but then came back then it does not count. I guess it will because you were not actively working during this period.

Sep 20, 2022
Hence if your employer gave you time off for maternity but you kept your job for you to return to, then your maternity leave counts as experience. If you quit completely but then came back then it does not count. I guess it will because you were not actively working during this period.