+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Is Kijiji.com Legit for Rentals?

sihan

Star Member
Jul 3, 2021
Hi guys,

I am an international student that will be moving to Ontario for my college sometime later in December this year.

At this moment, I am still planning the actual date to fly over, and am looking to source for accommodation for at least a semester. May extend my stay for another semester, depending on where my work placement location will be.

Because I am a single male, it is kind of challenging to find a place considering that there is a general preference to want to rent to female tenants.
I found one specific site Kijiji.com, in it there seems to be a good number of available options that are in close proximity with my school.

However, I am not sure if these listings are legitimate or not.

Can someone share your review about this site? Are there any lease agreements that you need to sign when you are renting via this site?
Also, please let me know if there are any T&Cs, pros & cons or anything that I need to look out for when sourcing for a place through this platform.

Thanks~~

thaovy99

Jun 26, 2019
I rented my current house from Kijiji. It's safe as you get to meet the landlord before anything sign or deposit. But there are absolutely scams on Kijiji so my bet is to stay away from "too good to be true" offers and always meet your landlord first.

Reactions: YVR123

sihan

Star Member
Jul 3, 2021
I rented my current house from Kijiji. It's safe as you get to meet the landlord before anything sign or deposit. But there are absolutely scams on Kijiji so my bet is to stay away from "too good to be true" offers and always meet your landlord first.
So did you enter into a lease agreement with your landlord?
Well even if you do meet the landlord in person, there is no guarantee that you'll be safe too, if they are out to scam you.