+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Is it wise to purchase property?

bharat999

Mar 5, 2014
Hi,

We are planning to settle in Edmonton towards the end of this year. I have been looking into properties to purchase - what are the added expenses that I should bear in mind? :-\

We have always lived a debt free life and would want to purchase outright - despite a few drawbacks (like having soft loans from family) ;)

Any information on other considerations that I need to take into account would be most appreciated.

Thank you! :D

ALRIVAS

Star Member
May 8, 2013
Toronto
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
LANDED..........
10-12-1994
Hi bharat999 I'm a Realtor in Toronto but in General in Canada you need to cover closing cost that involve:Lawyer,registration of you mortgage if any property tax,land transfer tax,moving cost,mortgage broker fees if any and realtor commissions if any.
In Ontario is around 2% of the purchase value excluding Toronto.

torontosm

Champion Member
Apr 3, 2013
bharat999 said:
Hi,

We are planning to settle in Edmonton towards the end of this year. I have been looking into properties to purchase - what are the added expenses that I should bear in mind? :-\

We have always lived a debt free life and would want to purchase outright - despite a few drawbacks (like having soft loans from family) ;)

Any information on other considerations that I need to take into account would be most appreciated.

Thank you! :D
My advice would be to avoid purchasing any property for a number of reasons:
1) You are just moving, and it will take time for you to figure out which neighborhood you like, which schools are the best for your kids, etc. Rent for a year until you can figure this out.
2) The property market in Alberta is already softening, and should deteriorate further given the weak economic conditions. In about a year, you will see prices that are substantially lower than today.