+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

International Student with Canadian spouse and interesting job offer

Ricster

Oct 30, 2017
Hey folks!

I have a bit specific case and I'd be grateful if you could help me.

I'm an international student and I am literally at the end of my studies (I have only a few weeks left until my graduation). I'm enrolled in a 1-year post-graduate diploma. I'm also newly married and my wife is a Canadian citizen.

Due to the structure of my study program, I'm only eligible for 1-year PGWP and my wife and I are currently working on family sponsorship application.

Recently, I got an amazing job offer from a giant Canadian finance company in Toronto and they are offering me more than 2x average new grad salary + a ton of benefits (I've passed 4 interviews with them to get this offer). The problem is, the start date of the job is August 2019, the contract is for 2 years and they want me to present at least 2-year PGWP prior to August 2019. They officially sent me the employment letter and this 2-year+ condition is in the letter. I've asked HR that if they'd be willing to do LMIA, they said no.

I don't have a prior work experience so I'm not eligible for express entry.

I have some questions about my situation:

1- What is the duration of OWP when applied with family sponsorship? Is there an end date or can I work until I get PR from the family sponsorship?
2- After we apply for family sponsorship and OWP, is there any way for me the proof the company that we completed our applications and they are in progress?
3- Since we are going to apply for family sponsorship and OWP before my graduation, can I still apply for PGWP?
4- How would OWP and PGWP affect each other? Would I lose my PGWP if I'm granted OWP or vice versa?
5- In any case, can I use the job offer to strength my applications?
6- Can you think of any other way or strategy for me to not to miss this job offer?