+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

I'm an IELTS examiner...

sharpe88

Nov 12, 2012
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Hi,

I'm an English trainer and IELTS examiner who happens to be sponsoring his wife over for PR.
Since I'm here anyway you can let me know if there's any questions about the test and I'll try to answer.
Note, my knowledge is about the test itself, not NOC, CLB, CELPIP, TEF, or immigration in general (I'm here to learn).

If you have questions about improving your scores please try to be specific.

rockers2012

May 8, 2012
if you score 7.5 band in speaking and your friend scores 8.0 band. What exact difference is there between the bands in terms of language skills/performance?

Thanks

sharpe88

Nov 12, 2012
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Hi rockers, there certainly is a difference between the bands. I wouldn't be able to say exactly the difference between how you and your (theoretical?) friend performed though. It means he scored higher on the criteria on average. (Do a Google search for "IELTS public band descriptors")

Note that there is a rounding down in the scores. That is, if you score 8.0 on every criteria but one on them was only 7.5, your overall speaking score is rounded down to 7.5.

rockers2012

May 8, 2012
I'd say there is not much difference between a 7.5 band scorer and a 8 band scorer if I went by your description. On most criteria both have shared the same performance.

For some reasons, IELTS speaking section is not perfect at least for me. What do you think of it as an examiner? Topics are way too easy/common to talk about.