+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

IELTS test if I graduated from US University? Also grow up in US.

perring

Jan 30, 2009
Hi, I know this question has been asked a million time and I've done searches on here. I just want to make sure since I basically grew up in the US.

I am Vietnamese, but immigrated to the US at 10 years old. I started school in the US since fifth grade. Of course, I've been in school and graduated (with a BS degree) from a University in California. I believe my English is good. Gosh, if it was not, I would not have survived one quarter of university courses at the University of California system.

Also, I've been working in corporate America for about 14 plus years ever since I graduated; and of course, everyone speaks English here.

I am claiming maximum points for the language category. I will write to CIC explaining the reasons for my English proficiency.

Given the info above, do you think I still have to take that IELTS General Test? It would be silly if I have to! :)

Thank you.

BobbyB

Champion Member
Feb 10, 2009
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Well having read earlier threads on this forum I know that some applicants from Nigeria, Ghana did not have to submit any IELTS test results.

I might be wrong, but I know some NAIJA fellows did not have to. I also know that you will have to submit a written proof of your English Proficiency irrespective of the fact that you are a resident of - and work in an English speaking country.

perring

Jan 30, 2009
BobbyB said:
Well having read earlier threads on this forum I know that applicants from Nigeria, Ghana did not have to submit any IELTS test results.

I might be wrong, but I know some NAIJA fellows did not have to. I also know that you will have to submit a written proof irrespective of the fact that you are resident of - and work in an English speaking country.
Thank you everyone for your replies.