+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Help needed..!

COC

Star Member
Jan 28, 2014
Hey there,

Background:
Mine: I came to Canada on a student visa. I studied 2 years of valid post-secondary program. I got work permit for 3 years ending in 2016. So right now I am on a work permit. I am working in a good company on a position that is considered under the skilled category B. and also it is completely related to my studies. In July 2014 I'll get eligible for PR under CEC category as I've 2 yrs of post secondary education and one year of skilled experience. Now marriage just got fixed last month, which is planned to be executed later this year.( end of 2014) for now (not exactly decided yet!). So now I've to look something for my spouse too.

Spouse: She applied for work permit in the mid of the year 2013. she was hired by a canadian company in Montreal. and that company was doing whole file for her. she got rejection. and the reason from CIC was: the company where she was working back home is not valid or seems suspicious. So the CIC was not satisfied with the working criteria. ( Even though the company is very valid) (But I am guessing that when CIC called in the company, the representer might have not given proper or satisfactory answer to the CIC, which leaded CIC to the unsatisfaction)

now as I am not married yet, I can't call her on a DOWP. But I can call her on visitor visa. so my planning is;

Strategy:

1) Call her on a 'Visitor visa'.

2) if she gets one, then she will be here soon (may be after 2 months, according to the processing time). and then once she comes here, I want to apply work permit for her.
- Now here in this second step I am bit confused.
i) I can apply a normal work permit for her.
OR
ii) the other option is I can go for a civil marriage (on paper marriage) and after that I can apply for DOWP for her.