+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Help needed - College does not accept ELP after application!

Saskatoony

Jan 22, 2016
Hi,

I am so frustrated and angry ...

Before I applied to a College I wanted to be sure that I met the English language proficiency. The College
website states if your primary language is not English you have to do IELTS or other test. The international
application form states (the one I sent in) if your first language is not English or your previous studies have not been conducted in English
you have to provide test results.

The coordinator of the Program confirmed on the phone that no additional test would be requested if my post secondary education was done in English. So I applied, paid 400 CAD and sent in my University transcripts. I graduated with a BSc (Honours) in Psychology. Now the College wrote
me back that I have to take the IELTS or other tests because my education was done by distance which they knew before. They responded that if I had taken Business Communication or English Literature classes they would consider it but not my courses from my Psychology degree because it does not show my ability of English language. I wrote them that I had to do my research project on campus in United Kingdom, all my assignments, exams and tutorials were done in English.The Open University in England is internationally accredited and my Bachelor is equivalent to a 4 year Bachelor in Canada. So I write emails back and for and all I get is emails with Copy Paste links from their website telling me about IELTS .. tests. They do not even read my emails!

I am also trying to phone the Coordinator of the Program but it is impossible to reach not on the personal number not through the office. I left a message on her voicemail but nobody calls me back.

I have time until March 15 to send in the test results. The next test in my area is on March 5 so the result will not be