+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

H1B Stamping in Canada as a new Permanent Resident

asvguy

Apr 26, 2022
Hi all,

I am a new Canadian Permanent Resident and I am eligible for Dropbox for my H1B extension stamping. Will my CoPR serve as the proof of legal status in Canada ? (considering nothing else is exists)

PR cards are taking almost 80 days to be mailed to me. I also have bank statement with the address on it, and also credit card statements.

Thanks!

bonkers90

Aug 30, 2022
Hi all,

I am a new Canadian Permanent Resident and I am eligible for Dropbox for my H1B extension stamping. Will my CoPR serve as the proof of legal status in Canada ? (considering nothing else is exists)

PR cards are taking almost 80 days to be mailed to me. I also have bank statement with the address on it, and also credit card statements.

Thanks!
Hello, were you able to get an answer for this question. I plan to perform my soft landing and also use my COPR as proof of legal status for dropbox.

asvguy

Apr 26, 2022
Hello, were you able to get an answer for this question. I plan to perform my soft landing and also use my COPR as proof of legal status for dropbox.
Hi, nopeI couldn't get an official from the consulate to explicitly say that it's fine. Problem is, it depends on the consular agent, if that person says no and need a PR card, then we're in trouble. If the visa is refused and sent back, it's a life long struggle now. So it's a lot of risk per my understanding, sending the copr.

bonkers90

Aug 30, 2022
Reactions: paneka penalty

asvguy

Apr 26, 2022
Okay, but I think PR card is just a document which can get lost and stuff. I was researching at my end and pretty much everyone said that signed COPR can qualify as proof of legal status.

It is covered under the list here: