+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Getting the new PR Card

Vimalan

Star Member
Jul 21, 2019
Hi,

I made my landing on the 30th of April 2022 at YYZ. During the landing, the Officer took the COPR copies & passport, took his time, and asked us to appear in front of a camera for a photograph. He took our address in Canada, signed both COPRs, and returned with us one copy of COPR. One of my friends confused me that we needed to apply for the PR in an application form along with a photograph and submit it to the Officer. It never happened. Upon checking the IRCC website, it mentions the below,

I am a new permanent resident. Do I need to apply for a PR Card?
If you are a new permanent resident, you will automatically receive your new card by mail when you first arrive in Canada. This is part of the immigration process and you do not need to apply for a PR Card.
Link: IRCC advice on PR for new arrivals

When I checked the system using their application tracker the below information was displayed.

Applicants for permanent residence can receive instant email updates and more detailed, up-to-date case status by creating an online account. Find out how.
We were not able to identify you using the information you provided. There could be three possible reasons:

• Please be sure the information you entered is correct and then try again.
  • This service is only available to clients with applications in process. We may have received your application but not yet begun processing it. The following link may help you determine if your application is being processed:
    Application Processing Times
  • At this time, you may use this on-line service to view the status of your application ONLYif you have:
    • sponsored a member of the family class;
    • applied for permanent residence from within or outside Canada;
    • applied for a permanent resident card (replacement or renewal);
    • applied for Canadian citizenship (grant of citizenship);