+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Gap years in PR status

chlorella28

Dec 27, 2019
Hi

I received Canadian PR status since 2004, but my PR card expired in 2010. Alas, I have not been able to meet my residency requirements since 2005, due to multiple invaluable opportunities for continuing my education within USA and UK. Now I have multiple higher education degrees and specializations (and in highly demanded field). I am currently able to enter Canada with my USA passport. However, in 2020 I wish to find work in Canada and finally live close to my Canadian family. I am wondering what my options are to achieve this. I understand I am still a permanent resident of Canada (as my PR has not been revoked) and my SIN has not expired. Would it be a problem for me to find a job in Canada and apply for card renewal after 3-5 years of working & living in Canada?

Alternatively, would I have to officially renounce my PR and apply for work visa instead?? Would I be able to obtain that? Would I be able to regain PR status ever again?

Thank you

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
Hi