+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Foreign Diplomas

HassanH

Star Member
Apr 22, 2017
Hi Everyone,

I have a couple of questions for you guys, hopefully someone can help:

I received my ITA yesterday. I am required to submit a scan of my Diplomas. I have a Masters Degree from Spain, and I already have an ECA for it.

However, my actual diploma is in Spanish, so do I have to have it translated to English and legalized before I can upload it? Or a simple scan of the actual Diploma + ECA report would suffice?

In case it has to be legalized, I have to go through: Ministry of Education --> Ministry of Foreign Affairs --> translation --> Send it to Canadian Embassy for legalizaton and certification. As you can see it's quite a hassle. So, do I have to go through all that just to upload my actual Diploma or would a translated version of that Diploma + ECA report be sufficient?

One more question: Do I have to do the same for my Bachelors Degree or is it enough to upload my Masters only.

Thanks for your help!

Houzi

Star Member
Jun 6, 2017
You dont need a legalization, just a certified translation. In my country its usually done by a translator, who's signature is then certified by a
notary. Check CIC websites for recs for translation. Legalization is not mentioned there.
For 2d question, I can only speculate that if your bachelors is included to ECA, you better upload it too.

HassanH

Star Member
Apr 22, 2017
You dont need a legalization, just a certified translation. In my country its usually done by a translator, who's signature is then certified by a
notary. Check CIC websites for recs for translation. Legalization is not mentioned there.
For 2d question, I can only speculate that if your bachelors is included to ECA, you better upload it too.
Hi, thanks for your reply !