+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Family reunification - immediate family member - only COPR

a6prasad

May 3, 2019
This is the situation.

I am a permanent resident of Canada. Already in Canada. I have already sent my photos for PR card, and I am waiting to receive it. My mom is scheduled to travel. Since, I am an immediate family member to her, she didn't apply for authorization form. Will she able to show my COPR and proof of relationship at the border. Will there be any issue? Will they insist on PR card? (I'm still waiting for mine to arrive). Will the border official ask her any other questions? She is travelling on visit visa.

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
This is the situation.

I am a permanent resident of Canada. Already in Canada. I have already sent my photos for PR card, and I am waiting to receive it. My mom is scheduled to travel. Since, I am an immediate family member to her, she didn't apply for authorization form. Will she able to show my COPR and proof of relationship at the border. Will there be any issue? Will they insist on PR card? (I'm still waiting for mine to arrive). Will the border official ask her any other questions? She is travelling on visit visa.
Is she flying or going to a land border?

a6prasad

May 3, 2019
The airline check-in agents are the ones who check whether you can fly so a PR card will be what they are looking for. Is she flying before September 7?
Before September 7. But I have a COPR which clearly states that I am a permanent resident of Canada. Why is that not sufficient. It’s not my fault IRCC takes so long to issue a simple PR card.

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
Before September 7. But I have a COPR which clearly states that I am a permanent resident of Canada. Why is that not sufficient. It’s not my fault IRCC takes so long to issue a simple PR card.