+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Education, Immigration, LMIA...

mooskan

Dec 4, 2016
Hi,
My message is going to be long so I'm sorry in advance. I'm just really confused and need help.

I'm doing a bachelors degree in education/teaching. My original plan was to do a masters degree in Special Education in Canada and then stay there as a elementary/secondry school teacher or special needs teacher, until I found out about "LMIA" which confused me a lot. On the internet it says LMIA is supposed to show that you, as a foreigner, are needed for that job and that there's no Canadians to do the job. I've been told so many times that there are tons of Canadians out there looking for teaching jobs so I don't think I have much of a chance as a foreigner. So this was my plan #1, which would cost me about $30,000 (tuition)

But it looked difficult because of what I'm studying so I decided to do a second bachelors degree in Canada after I'm done with my current one in may this year. I want to study something that is both interesting to me and in demand in Canada. I'm really interested in psychology, veterinary medicine, and architecture but I don't know if those are in demand in Canada so I'm open to pretty much anything if you have other suggestions. So this is my new plan and it will cost me around $80,000 (tuition) so it's much more expensive.

Now, LMIA. Say I studied psychology and found a job and I need LMIA, right? How though? Why would Canada need a me as a psychology major? That's what's confusing to me because like I said LMIA has to say that as a foreigner you're needed in Canada for that job. How do people immigrate then? LMIA sounds extremely difficult and picky.