+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Does Canadian Government arrange for ANY job or housing?

sunshinejan

Jul 23, 2013
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Hi,
I am a newbie and so many things are still unclear to me.
Does Canadian Government provide for at least some job and housing until you get on your own feet?
Like when you win a greencard and have no clues US government offers some assistance.

Does Canada at least in some terms assist the new immigrants for finding a job and low cost apartments, etc?

Thanks in advance

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
No - the Canadian government does not provide housing or a job until you get on your own feet. It is up to you to find a job and housing.

There are programs offered by the Canadian government that teach you how to put together a Canadian resume, how to interview for jobs and how to search for jobs. But you're pretty much on your own when it comes to actually finding a job.

As for housing, low cost housing is available but most cities have around a 10 year waiting list for this subsidized housing. So you won't have access to subsidized housing when you arrive and it will be up to you to find housing at a reasonable cost.

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Canada doesn't have a green card lottery so most of the immigrants that get PR of Canada are either already working in Canada or come with a job offer. The few who are allowed to immigrate without a job offer are required to bring enough savings to last for at least 6 months.

Fredrick_n

May 5, 2017
..... There are programs offered by the Canadian government that teach you how to put together a Canadian resume, how to interview ....