+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Determine NOC and time to apply

tltt89

Dec 14, 2013
Hi all,

I'm a newbie here. I am looking to start my application for the CEC program in a couple weeks.I have couple questions hope i can get some help from here.

1. I am working at a staffing and recruiting company. When I first started here, I was hired as an intern for 3 months. My job title is Executive Assistant/Account Manager (EA/AC). It's a full time job and i got paid $400 per month. I wasn't on payroll fyi. Everyone at my company was first hired as an intern and we're all independent consultant as they call it there, which mean we send the company invoice every 2 weeks to get pay. It's like self employed but i had to be at the office 40hr/week. After the 3 months, I was hired as full time EA/AC - employee on payroll.

So i'm wondering if my 3 months as intern there would count toward the 12 months of work experience.

2. I'm having some difficult time determining my job NOC. As you can see, my job is a mixed of EA and AC. So i'm not sure which one to apply under. I did some research on the hrdc website but couldn't get any job title that has the closest match to my job. Basically, things i do at work are:
• Assist the CEO and President in all possible works: conduct market research and handle requests for information
• Support various internal business functions: Finance, Sales and Marketing
• International Expansion and Operations: registering company in foreign countries, tax registration, human resource and labor rules research, etc.
• Assist managing major account: manage and maintain employee relations with staffs across North America and the Caribbean; serve as interface between these employees and the company and our client, identify and solve problems (if any)