+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Citizenship - Proof of residency

ag123987

Feb 18, 2018
Hello,

I have been a permanent resident for almost 3 years now and so I was starting to look into the process to get the Canadian citizenship.
I realized that I might have an issue with the proof of residency... problem is, my passport expired last April, and I got it renewed at the consulate.
But they took back the old passport when delivering the new one.

So, how will I prove that I haven't left the country during the past years?

Thank you,

CaBeaver

Champion Member
Dec 15, 2018
Hello,

I have been a permanent resident for almost 3 years now and so I was starting to look into the process to get the Canadian citizenship.
I realized that I might have an issue with the proof of residency... problem is, my passport expired last April, and I got it renewed at the consulate.

Thank you,
The should have returned you the old passport stamped as cancelled. IRCC don't ask all applicants to send their passport copies these days, but if they do you will have to explain your situation. They may be able to verify your entries from CBSA alone. You can apply for your citizenship if you meet all the requirements, and start trying to retrieve your old passport if you could. If you didn't succeed, you would show IRCC that you tried but didn't succeed.

Reactions: ag123987

ag123987

Feb 18, 2018
Thank you for your answer.

It is in fact the rule for my country. They do not allow anyone to keep an expired passport.
Lot of people declare it lost instead of renewing it just for this reason, as they want to keep the souvenir of their past travels.
I stupidly didn't think about it... if I had explained to them the situation maybe they would have made an exception.

I will do what you suggest and contact them to see if there is a way to get it back just for this citizenship process.
Or, at least if they could send me a letter stating that they will not give it back.