+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Change of Course- Law to Human Resource Management

Manasvi012

Nov 29, 2018
Hey guys,

I am a law graduate from India with one year of experience in the field of litigation. I am planning to take up a Human Resource Graduate Certificate course in Ontario.
Well, My profile is:
10th(CBSE)- 78%
12th(CBSE)- 83%(Commerce field)
BALLB(H)- 66.3%
Ielts- aiming for 7.5- 8 band overall in January.
Consultants here suggest that "you should go for Paralegal as you have studied law and will show some relevance to your previous course which will foster better chances of Visa". I was going through another thread on this forum where kids who have studied law and applied for paralegal got visa rejections because:
1. They were not able to satisfy the visa officers, as the course has country-specific laws and will definitely be having the intention of settling in Canada.
2. That they have done law there was no point of studying paralegals as they are just the law assistants and not the lawyers, so once you are a licensed lawyer why will you be going for a course which will only allow you to assist lawyers?

Anyway, I want to go for HR, is there anyone who can help me with this? Because In one sense Law and Human Resource are closely related. If anyone who has or had a similar situation may help. I really need it!
Thanks a lot!

sim08

Star Member
Oct 31, 2019
hey , I have the same issue even I am a law grad from India . Did you finally apply for HRM ? would like to know what the career prospects are incase you got through.

Manasvi012

Nov 29, 2018
Hey! Yes i got through the HRM program! I am studying in Fanshawe college.
Career prospects here depends on you and your skills of networking with people. Gaining marks is not very tough here as we have regular assignments through which we earn marks and we can present a good result in front of the recruiter!