+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

CEC Application and previous overstay

CopperBuck

Nov 18, 2018
Hello guys,
I studied, lived and worked in Canada for 8 years, and at the end of my stay in July 2017,
I was trying to apply for an LMIA to extend my work permit and apply for permanent residency under the Canadian Experience class, but because of mistakes from my employer and representative, I was declined LMIA, by which time I was already out of status and 90 days has passed, but I was afraid to leave and wanted to extend my stay somehow, so I applied for a Temporary Resident Visa on Oct 2017, which was also refused and I ended up with a 7 month overstay before I left Canada voluntarily (was never given any removal orders) in April 2018 and returned to my home country, India.
Even though I overstayed, I never worked without a valid work permit and only lived off my savings for the 7 months that I was out of status.

So, my question is this, is it still possible for me to apply for Express Entry under the Canadian Experience Class, and if so, what do I answer to this question,

Working legally in Canada during this time?

A person must have:

• been working on a valid work permit or exempt from needing one,
  • had legal status the whole time they were in Canada, and
  • not stayed longer than the approved time period.
Yes or No

I did work with a valid work permit, but I did overstay, but if I say no, it says I am not eligible for Canadian Experience Class, and my CRS score goes down by almost 50 points. Should I say yes and then attach and LoE to explain my overstay and tell them I wouldn't do it again.

I don't want to lie on my application, I want to be honest about the mistake I made and want to assure them I wouldn't do it again. But if I answer No, I won't even get an invite because my points go down by a lot and it says I don't meet the minimum criteria for CEC.