+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Can my sister (a minor) come as immediate family member?

astdium

Aug 28, 2017
Hi, I’m a permanent resident of Canada. My mom, dad, and sister (dependent minor) are planning to visit me for the holidays and stay for a couple of months. The Canada website says that my parents qualify as immediate family members. It says that siblings are extended family members and need written authorization. However, how about a sibling that’s a minor and is a dependent of my parents? Would they need written authorization as well or would they qualify as an immediate family member?

I’ll try to call IRCC on Monday to see what they say, but any insights from y’all?

Thanks!

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
Hi, I’m a permanent resident of Canada. My mom, dad, and sister (dependent minor) are planning to visit me for the holidays and stay for a couple of months. The Canada website says that my parents qualify as immediate family members. It says that siblings are extended family members and need written authorization. However, how about a sibling that’s a minor and is a dependent of my parents? Would they need written authorization as well or would they qualify as an immediate family member?

I’ll try to call IRCC on Monday to see what they say, but any insights from y’all?

Thanks!
She needs written authorization.

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
Assume they all have TRVs already. If she is a minor you will have to explain how she can be away from school for so long.

astdium

Aug 28, 2017
Assume they all have TRVs already. If she is a minor you will have to explain how she can be away from school for so long.