+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Can I work even though I have 3 part time semesters left?

cmcara

Sep 18, 2018
I was a full time student, but because I am only finishing my thesis I default to taking on one credit a semester until I finish, which is 3 more semesters. Can I work?

bongoman

VIP Member
Dec 3, 2014
You could always work 20 hours a week. Is this normal for your program Im thinking it might affect your PGWP to be part time for 3 semesters.

Reactions: cmcara

cmcara

Sep 18, 2018
Is there.. a piece of something from the Canadian government that states that this is permissible? I would love to be working part time already.

In terms of "normal" - yes - in that no student I know in my year and the previous years (except for 3- 4 students) have completed their thesis on the date that the program projected. The PGWP does not apply to me. I am obtaining a work permit through another way.

bongoman

VIP Member
Dec 3, 2014
Is there.. a piece of something from the Canadian government that states that this is permissible? I would love to be working part time already.

In terms of "normal" - yes - in that no student I know in my year and the previous years (except for 3- 4 students) have completed their thesis on the date that the program projected. The PGWP does not apply to me. I am obtaining a work permit through another way.
Checked again and it actually says you are only allowed to work as part time student if it your last semester so not sure how it works if you have 3 part time semesters.
https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/study-canada/work/work-off-campus.html

If you are no longer a full-time student, you can still work off campus if you meet both of these requirements:

• you have been a full-time student since you started your program in Canada
  • you are now studying part time only because this is your last semester, and you do not need a full course load to complete your program

cmcara