+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Can I transfer from high school to college/ university?

Anik1204

Oct 23, 2019
I am currently studying in Grade 12 in Ontario . I had given HSC exam back home which stands for Higher Secondary Certificate. And it is used for admission in undergraduate programs for international student. So my results are recently published. So I was wondering if I could use that certificate to transfer to any undergraduate program now.

Currently I am holding study permit of primary or secondary school

k.h.p.

VIP Member
Mar 1, 2019
Canada
You can't "transfer" to undergraduate programs.

You can apply to universities for admission. They will want your transcripts, and they will ask you if you are currently studying. Since you are, you should probably let them know.

Having studies in English in Ontario may exempt you from needing IELTS scores for your university admission. If you are currently in Grade 12 there are ways you can submit interim marksheets for admissions review.

However, universities only admit students at specific times in the year. You have missed the cutoff, most likely, for admission in January. You could potentially be admitted in the Fall, but that deadline is fast approaching.

You will also need a different study permit if primary or secondary school is listed on your study permit.

Anik1204

Oct 23, 2019
You can't "transfer" to undergraduate programs.

You can apply to universities for admission. They will want your transcripts, and they will ask you if you are currently studying. Since you are, you should probably let them know.

Having studies in English in Ontario may exempt you from needing IELTS scores for your university admission. If you are currently in Grade 12 there are ways you can submit interim marksheets for admissions review.