+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Can i still appeal

finalexodus

Jun 6, 2011
I received a removal order, but left canada before the 30 days is up. I left without obtaining a certificate of departure.

1. Do I still have the option to appeal?
2. Can I send in the appeal by mail from outside of Canada?
3. As I live in the US, can I still drive up to the border and obtain a certificate of departure to confirm departure?

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
1. Yes

How many days have you been in Canada for the past 5 years. Why could you not meet your RO obligation? Based on previous post you may not have been in Canada since 2011.

finalexodus

Jun 6, 2011
1. Yes

How many days have you been in Canada for the past 5 years. Why could you not meet your RO obligation? Based on previous post you may not have been in Canada since 2011.
I haven't been in Canada to meet RO as I studied in the US. I'm ok giving up Canadian PR at this point. Can I mail in my appeal? Thanks.

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
I haven't been in Canada to meet RO as I studied in the US. I'm ok giving up Canadian PR at this point. Can I mail in my appeal? Thanks.
Studying in the US is definitely not considered H&C reasons. You can appeal but expect to likely refused be refused.

PMM

VIP Member
Jun 30, 2005
HI

I received a removal order, but left canada before the 30 days is up. I left without obtaining a certificate of departure.

1. Do I still have the option to appeal?
2. Can I send in the appeal by mail from outside of Canada?
3. As I live in the US, can I still drive up to the border and obtain a certificate of departure to confirm departure?
1. No, you had 30 days to appeal.
3. You can try, but if 30 days have passed it has probably turned in to a deportation order.

dpenabill

VIP Member
Apr 2, 2010