+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Can friend hire me to work in her office?

novia0923

Aug 31, 2012
Hi there:

I am a naturopathic medicine student soon graduating from my school. I already know I can't apply for post-graduate work permit, so I am wondering, if my colleague, who wants to open a naturopathic clinic after she graduate, wants to hire me as an associate in her clinic - can she do that? or is there any requirement for her to give me a job offer (or pass LMO)?

Thanks so much for your time!

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
Your friend needs to obtain an approved LMO before you can apply for a work permit. To get the LMO approved, she will have to prove that she advertised the job and was unable to find a Canadian to hire for the role. More information on LMOs here:

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/work/employers/lmo-basics.asp

novia0923

Aug 31, 2012
Thank you so much for answering my question!
Just one more thing: if I get a temporary work permit, can I take a course at a private school if it will take for more than 6 months? I want to improve my skills while I am working, but I was told you can't have both work permit and study permit at the same time...

Thanks again for your time!

amira_mais

Aug 18, 2011
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
novia0923 said:
Just one more thing: if I get a temporary work permit, can I take a course at a private school if it will take for more than 6 months? I want to improve my skills while I am working, but I was told you can't have both work permit and study permit at the same time...