+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Book Publisher/author looking to immigrate

bookpublisher

May 5, 2017
Hi all, I'm a published author (20 books + 1000 magazine articles around the globe). I also own a book publishing firm that publishes authors internationally (we are publishing a Canadian children's author right now). I would like to immigrate to Canada from the USA and run my business from Canada. 90% of what I do is done online (via e-mail/skype with my printers, editors, graphics people and authors who own their own businesses around the world). I would be coming with my husband who is a British citizen. No kids. I own my home (no mortgage), own my vehicles (no loans), we own about 17 additional pieces of property in the USA that we are preparing to sell ahead of the move. Can anyone advise me as to what program I should explore for immigrating into Canada as a PR. I am a USA citizen and my hubby is a British citizen with a USA green card that is current and he has been in the USA for the past 20 years. No criminal records. Husband is retired and collecting social security now in the USA (66 years old). I just turned 60 and love my work - no plans to retire anytime soon. THANKS, this is all new to me and I appreciate any insights you can share!

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
Express Entry / Federal Skilled Worker is likely your best option. Don't go with self-employed, the processing times are extremely long (e.g. 8 years).

I think you'll still have an uphill battle with Express Entry / Federal Skilled Worker due to your age. It's a points based system and you'll unfortunately be awarded zero points as a result of your age.