+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Becoming a French teacher in Canada. Should I study B.ed?

yuvrajbhatia1396

Star Member
Oct 2, 2018
Hello! I am a French language student from India and this is my last year and my studies will be over this month and I like teaching. I once made a similar post here but I did not ask everything I wanted so I am making another post.

A lot of International students are studying Management or STEM related courses in Canada but I have never heard of any international student wanting to become a teacher in Canada or studying B.Ed n Canada. I like teaching( I have no work experience but as part of my college program, we get training to become teachers in which he give demo lectures to students and I loved teaching). Anyway, I spoke to some Canadians on Reddit who told me that there is a shortage of French teachers in Canada. I have looked for B.Ed programs in Alberta in University of Calgary and University of Alberta. Since I already have a Bachelor's degree, I can complete this program in 2 years instead of 4 years. But as you all know that studying in Canada is expensive. I feel safer taking a loan for management course like Human resource/business management/marketing than the B.Ed program. Can anyone please advise me? And oh, I am fluent in French(If that helps)

Thank you!

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017