August 9th, 2023 ARC request
August 15th, 2023 background verification marked as completed
September18th, 2023 ARC sent
Have you heard anything back
Nothing on my side

Miledarome

Dec 31, 2022
Hello everyone.

I wanted some input on what kind of timeline to expect so that I can plan for our future accordingly.

I am a permanent resident of Canada. Waiting for my PR card to come in the mail. I am going to be getting married to my partner in April 2024.

He was deported from Canada due to a failed refugee claim in May 2023. So we know that alongside the spousal sponsorship we will need to apply for the ARC as well.

I have heard that normally the family reunification scheme setup by Canada allows your sponsored spouse to join you in Canada on a visitor visa and an open work permit while waiting for the sponsorship application to be approved. I am hoping that we can do something similar but with the ARC as well.

Has anyone been approved for ARC, visitor visa and open work permit based on a spousal sponsorship before they were approved for a full PR?

What kind of timeline should I anticipate once the applications are submitted?

Thank you all in advance.
He will have to go through ARC first definitely.But you can apply alongside with TRV and OWP and anything is possible with Immigration so long as he didn’t commit any crime.I did the same thing but nothing has been approved yet it now 1year since I did the ARC application.We had a PR application processing but still processing too until his ARC gets approved

Gimpster

Apr 8, 2024
I’m going to try and include all pertinent information in order.